Qualifications and Accreditation

Qualifications and Accreditation: Outcomes at KS 4

Moving into KS 4 pupils will be working towards completing accredited subjects that are relevant to their level and learning need. The qualifications are graded as:

  • Entry Level 1
  • Entry Level 2
  • Entry Level 3
  • Level 1 (equivalent to GCSE grades D-G)
  • Level 2 (Equivalent to GCSE grades A – C)

Entry Level: Entry Level in the UK is the lowest level in the National Qualifications Framework in England, Wales, and Northern Ireland. Qualifications at this level recognise basic knowledge and skills and the ability to apply learning in everyday situations under direct guidance or supervision. Learning at this level involves building basic knowledge and skills and is not usually geared towards specific occupations. Entry Level qualifications can be taken at three levels (Entry 1, Entry 2 and Entry 3 and are available in a broad range of subjects.) They are targeted at a range of learners including those with learning difficulties. The level after Entry Level in the National Qualifications Framework is Level 1, which is equivalent to GCSE grades D-G. We currently offer entry levels in the following subjects:

English; Maths; ICT; Home Cooking; PE; Creative Arts; PSHE; Employability, Life Skills.

Edexcel Functional Skills: Some pupils in Years 10 and 11 begin working towards Functional Skills tests in English, Maths and ICT. They will have three ‘windows’ of testing in each year to progress through the tests and move them on to the next level. Some pupils will progress through to Level 1 and Level 2 in these exams.

OCR Life and Living Skills: This is a qualification that through the different units enables pupils to gain knowledge in different subject areas. Through this award pupils will be developing knowledge and skills in: Home Management (Cooking Skills), Horticulture and World of Work.

OCR PE Entry Level: Pupils are assessed in 2 different sports, complete a fitness programme as well as commenting on performance and analysing how a skill is accomplished. Pupils can achieve Entry 1, 2 or 3.

Arts Award: The Arts Award is delivered at level Explore (equivalent to EL3), Bronze (Equivalent to a Level 1 Award) depending on pupils abilities.   To find out more about Arts Award.

Duke of Edinburgh’s Award: For the first time this year we are offering the Duke of Edinburgh Bronze Award to all our year 11 pupils and some of our Year 10 pupils. Once Year 10 pupils have completed their Bronze Award we will assess whether they are able to move onto the Silver Award. The Bronze Award is equivalent to a Level 1 Award. To find out more about Duke of Edinburgh’s Award.

ASDAN: Pupil Progress: Complete subject work in English, Maths, PSHE, Employability and Life Skills to achieve either the Award or Certificate.   Each unit has a credit value (1 credit is equal to approximately 10 hours of learning). To achieve a qualification learners must gain credits by completing their chosen units and providing clear evidence that they have met the full requirements of the unit. 

Units can be built up in any combination to reach the total credit value required for a qualification.

  • Learners who accrue 8 credits will receive an Award qualification
  • Learners who accrue 14 credits will receive a Certificate qualification
  • Learners who accrue 25 credits will receive an Extended Certificate qualification
  • Learners who accrue 37 credits will receive a Diploma

Food Bank Non-School Uniform Day

18 Oct 2021

Dear Parent / Carer,  It is that time of year again, when we have been talking about and celebrating Harvest time.  Following this, we are always keen to support the local Food Bank with foo...

Flu Vaccinations Postponed

15 Oct 2021

We have just been informed by the NHS School Immunisation Team that due to staff illness they are unable to provide the flu vaccinations on Monday 18th October 2021.  This is very disappointing n...

Flu Vaccinations

08 Oct 2021

We are still awaiting information on the Covid-19 vaccination.  However I am pleased to advise that flu vaccinations will be offered in school this Autumn/Winter by the Dorset School Age Immunisa...

SENDIASS Participation Group

29 Sep 2021

SENDIASS Participation Group  SENDIASS continue to look for young persons (aged 14-25) to be part of their Participation Group. If any of your children might be interested in being part of this g...


08 Sep 2021

Although we have begun the new year in a relatively 'normal' way, I thought I'd just update you about a few things related to Covid-19. Currently, we continue to follow all of the up to date national...

Transport -Monday 6th September

04 Sep 2021

Good morning everyone! I am aware of some transport issues for Monday. If you have received an email saying transport will not pick up your child or transport does not arrive on Monday, please call Re...

Covid Testing

12 Mar 2021

Dear Parent/Carer, Please find below a link to a letter containing information relating to COVID-19 home testing for pupils in Years 7 to 11. COVID_19_Testing_Letter_Pupils_in_Year_7_to_11_12.03.2021....


03 Feb 2021

Some additional support for you all! 1. If you are struggling to get food and other household essentials please contact: 0300 123 7052. The service is open Monday to Friday, 9am – 5pm. https:...

School Closure - Social Story

29 Jan 2021

I refer to our recent communication advising parents/carers that whole school remote online learning will continue until February half-term, with pupils returning to school and face to face provision...

Update - Continued Whole School Remote Learning

28 Jan 2021

Hi everyone, Hope you're all doing OK, I just wanted to send out an update on the situation at school, please see the attached letter: Letter_270121_Continued_Remote_Learning.pdf As you will...